
Porträt des Fürsten Lobkowitz
Aquarell auf festem Karton
Auction date : 2025-05-17
Published result : 1386 EUR
Including buyer’s premium
Estimate : 1000
View the lot at the auction house ↗SwissArtGallery · Documented identity
In Vienna, Josef Kriehuber works as a lithographer for several publishing houses, including Trentsensky; his first portraits made using this technique are published in 1826. On his return to the city, he completes his apprenticeship in 1824 or 1825.
His work also includes studies of the Prater park. A charcoal drawing attributed to Kriehuber depicts the crown of a gnarled oak; signed at the lower left, it is dated 14 July 1855 and was executed on brownish paper.
In 1860, he receives the Order of Franz Joseph. He teaches at the Theresian Academy in Vienna and ends his career as a drawing teacher, from 1867 to 1871.
Significant groups of his works are held at the Albertina and in the portrait collection of the Austrian National Library in Vienna. His work was the subject of a catalogue of portrait lithographs, of which Wolfgang von Wurzbach publishes a second edition in 1958, followed by a monograph by Selma Krasa published in 1987.
This profile brings together identity references for Josef Kriehuber and paintings, drawings and works on paper documented in auction catalogues.
10 references are documented at Schuler, Zofingen, Lempertz. Each record links to its source; the amounts are not a general valuation of the artist’s work.

Aquarell auf festem Karton
Auction date : 2025-05-17
Published result : 1386 EUR
Including buyer’s premium
Estimate : 1000
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Gouache
Junger Offizier
gouache
Catalogue period : 2024-11-29
Published result : 1600 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 800
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Watercolour, 1871
Portrait eines Mädchens mit dunkelbraunem, gelocktem Haar und weisser Bluse
Aquarell, 1871
Catalogue period : 2022-12-16
Published result : 450 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 400–600
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Watercolour, 1871
Portrait eines Mädchens mit dunkelblondem, gelocktem Haar und weisser Rüschenbluse
Aquarell, 1871
Catalogue period : 2022-12-16
Published result : 550 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 500–700
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Charcoal drawing on brownish paper
Die Baumkrone einer knorrigen Eiche
Kohlezeichnung auf bräunlichem Papier
Catalogue period : 2020-12-07
Published result : 260 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 260–400
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Watercolour, 1850
Portrait eines österreichischen Offiziers in Uniform
Aquarell, 1850
Catalogue period : 2020-09-14
Published result : 550 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 200–300
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Charcoal drawing on brownish paper
Die Baumkrone einer knorrigen Eiche
Kohlezeichnung auf bräunlichem Papier
Catalogue period : 2020-06-26
Catalogue reference — sale not confirmed
Estimate : CHF 500–800
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Watercolour, signed
Portrait einer Bürgersfrau im grünen Kleid
Aquarell, sign
Catalogue period : 2017-06-23
Published result : 300 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 300–500
View the lot at the auction house ↗
Watercolour over pencil, 1828
Sitzende Dame mit Pelzstola
Aquarell über Bleistift, 1828
Catalogue period : 2014-12-12
Published result : 360 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 500–700
View the lot at the auction house ↗These references are shown separately because of their attribution or lot composition. Each record states the reason.

Watercolour
Attribué à Kriehuber, Josef — , zugeschrieben Gegenstücke
aquarelle
zugeschrieben
Catalogue period : 2019-12-09
Attributed
Published result : 850 CHF
Fees not specified in the available data
Estimate : CHF 300–500
View the lot at the auction house ↗SwissArtGallery documentary note based on the cited sources. Titles, media and qualifications are provided in the profile language; the original catalogue wording remains available in each record.
Documentation updated : 2026-10-19